Queen Constance writes a great book. For a while she’s had a bit of a cult following on her blog queensofconstance.com, writing in a beautifully honest and hilarious way about the everyday reality of life.

Like a Queen I would say is one of the essentials of modern mothering – easy to read, relatable, funny and uplifting. It is part autobiography, part text book, part self esteem lifter. The kind of book to re-read every six months or so when you hit a hard patch. Constance doesn’t shy from the crap bits about motherhood and modern femininity – birth and breastfeeding, self esteem, relationships and marriage, self image and body size, children and being brought to your limits. She encourages kindness, self love and moving on through the hard times, that through resilience we earn more of our ‘crowns’.

As a nearly 30 year old mother of five children seven and under, with a ‘jelly’ tummy and my own chaos of family, household, marriage and personal ambitions, she makes me feel more like royalty and affirmed and blessed in my life than the overwhelmed freak that society sometimes makes us feel. Not only that but she makes you want to go out and hug, smile at, help out and love every other queen out there.

She’s unashamedly morally ambiguous, but she is raw and honest and has a great message to spread. I found myself at times reading patches and thinking it was my life story, maybe I’d actually written this myself. Which is most of the charm of the book, that even if your story is entirely different, there is so much that you can relate to, that is in the voice that you speak in your head, that you find yourself nodding along and wanting to share it with every queen you know.

I’d highly recommend it.

 

