I Am The Messenger by Markus ZusakI read I am the Messenger after loving Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief.

This one took me a bit to get into, but once hooked it was good light reading.

The story describes a nineteen year old male who is rather “useless” in a without hope small town. He lives his life playing cards, hanging out with his friends and working as an underage cab driver. After stopping a bank robbery he starts getting sent messages to deliver. Messages that change those around him – his friends, family and community for the better.

I am the Messenger was not as good as The Book Thief. I wasn’t sure about the ending and found it harder to get involved in the story. It is definitely more of a young adult type book than an adult, perhaps the type you would read in school, but a good read all the same.

