IMAG1364My girls and I love baking. My children seem to be real ‘outside kids’ and love being outside in our big backyard, and during winter and wet days when we are forced to be inside we often entertain ourselves by doing a lot of cooking.

I came across this recipe after I had my first baby, and its great as its not full of lots of butter and sugar like so many other recipes. I was worried doing a lot of baking we would get really unhealthy! So over winter I think this is our baking staple.

Its also stress free baking with kids. Its easy for my girls to measure stuff into the food processor, they don’t mix it so there isn’t much mess. And everyone likes it, as reviewed by a visiting non-vegetable muffin eating three year old today.

So the recipe…

1 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 cups baking bran
1/2 cup sugar
2 cups grated carrot
25g butter (melted)
1 egg
1 tablespoon honey
1 cup milk

Put everything in the food processor and combine. Fill muffin tin. Bake @ 200ºC for 20 minutes.

I often substitute or change the recipe around though. I often use apple or whatever fruit we have instead of carrot . I omit sugar with more honey sometimes. I use coconut oil instead of butter. Sometimes stewed fruit instead of carrot and leave out some milk. I also sometimes add LSA (Ground Linseed and Almond) mix and sultanas. Whatever is in the pantry. Its a very versatile recipe!

About to go eat one now with hot chocolate 🙂

