1381054_open_bookI’ve recently rediscovered reading. Its more uplifting than mindless television (cooking, police/emergency services, reality television anyone?) and it gives me “space” when I’ve had a busy day of noise and action. Quite therapeutic (as long as I have the energy to have a concentration span!) 

When pregnant with my third baby, my husband kindly bought me a Kindle.

A Kindle makes it easy to read while parenting small children because you can’t lose your page, they can “read”/destroy the book you are reading, you can do it one handed while feeding and you can pick and choose what you read easily (if you lose attention span at times like I do, whether it be because you are tired, don’t know what to do with “alone” time, or just can’t be bothered).  However much I was in favour of real books, having an e-reader has definately made it easier for me to get back into reading. Its quite addictive. I guess thats the trouble. Its so easy to go onto Amazon and download  a new book.

Anyway, I digress from what I originally wanted to write.

I’ve read some really good books lately. Every book I read I rave about to my husband as the best book I’ve read, that he has to read. Books that suck you in and leave you at a loss once you are finished.

The last three books I read were:hundred year old

‘The Hundred Year Old Man who Climbed Out of a Window and Disappeared’ by Jonas Jonasson
Basically a Swedish ‘Forrest Gump’. A great tale of a hundred year old man who doesn’t want his hundredth birthday party at the resthome, so he climbs out of the window and disappears, escaping gang members and befriending a con artist and other odd characters. While he is on the run the story retells his life story and his many experiences being in the right place at the right time. A great education in 20th century history and a really uplifting story.

I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak‘I am the Messenger’ by Markus Zusak
A young adult fiction book that I read after loving Markus Zusak’s ‘The Book Thief’. Took me a bit to get into, but once hooked it was good light reading. The story describes a nineteen year old male who is rather “useless” in a without hope small town. He lives his life playing cards, hanging out with his friends and working as an underage cab driver. After stopping a bank robbery he starts getting sent messages to deliver. Messages that change those around him – his friends, family and community for the better. I really wasn’t sure about the ending though. Not as good as ‘The Book Thief’ but a good read all the same.

light between oceans‘The Light Between Oceans’ by M.L. Stedman
An Australian novel about a lighthouse keeper in Western Australia. It mostly covers the period between the two World Wars. For me it was simultaneously one of the best books I’ve read and the worst. I mean the worst because as a mother it has gripped me and been emotive for me. The lighthouse keepers wife experiences multiple miscarriages, and when a boat turns up on their remote lighthouse island with a baby in it they keep the baby, later to find its mother searching for it. Its the kind of book that describes things in a way you had never thought of before. That places you in a time that you are much too young for, and yet you can feel and experience everything that is going on, with a new appreciation and perspective. One of my favourites.

What have you read lately? What would you recommend for my next book?

