Whether we have chosen it, or whether it is just the way it has all worked out we have been blessed to have two, soon to be three close together babies. I know when I found out I was pregnant with our second baby only 2 months or so after our first was born I felt a bit helpless. I looked everywhere for information on other people’s experiences and advice and how to cope with having two only 11 months apart. So I thought for other people’s sake, and also so I remember all this myself when I look back on it I’d write down what I’ve done and what’s helped me and good advice that I have been given.

To quote the website babybunching.com: “Baby Bunching™ is two years of pregnancy and back-to-back infants and toddlers with nary a break for you. Baby Bunching means chaos for you, and your little twiblings. No worries, they become good friends as a result of your bunching strategy. You will become strong, creative, organized, calm and at peace with your new lifestyle without even realizing it.”

Having close together children gets a lot of looks and comments from the general public, but I have to say is the best thing I have ever done. Sure, I am stretched at times, and very busy, but there are so many advantages to having them close together.

For one, they are great playmates. They can entertain each other. Hearing my youngest crawl up to her sister first thing in the morning yelling “Hi Zay!” looking more overjoyed to see her than seeing anyone else in the world brings joy to your heart. They are in roughly the same stage so while I have double the work we do nappy changes, feeding etc in shifts and it isn’t too complicated. Though we will have a few in nappies at a time, it will mean our nappy phase will be over quicker, as will hopefully being up in the night with babies.

To be honest the hardest thing is negativity from others (commonly strangers). The constant “how will you cope?” questions and the people who think it is a bit of a joke. And the hardest time I’ve had is when they were both sick and needing me at the same time. And every now and then transport issues with them. Particularly when toddler stubborness sets in. And what also can be hard is the end of day exhaustion of being non stop busy with meeting babies needs. But you can never be bored. And its definately satisfying. And can never say I have trouble sleeping anymore. I think to everything there is a bright side.

So over the next few days I thought I’d give some tips I’ve found for making things easier with a “bunch” of babies, that I’ve found good. So stay tuned for more…

